A portobello quibble & a (Miami Beach) Shake Shack trip

This slight quibble isn’t directly targeted towards the wonderful portobello mushroom– the title is a bit misleading, I’ll admit. Rather, this quibble is towards nearly every vegetarian option on most franchised restaurants’ menus.

Why, oh why, must you blanket every portobello with a soft tortilla? I mean, that IS a totally acceptable way of eating a portobello but it’s quite trite. C’mon, you know it, too.

How about deep-frying a portobello cap? Maybe filling it with muenster & cheddar cheese? Topping it with lettuce & tomato and then giving it a bear hug with two golden buns?

Mmmm, thank you Shake Shack for your ‘Shroom Burger.

While at home, I ventured to the famous Shake Shack in Miami Beach to see if they were truly shakin’ (eeeek, I couldn’t resist). Aaaaaannnnd, they are!

I dunno, it’s hard to go wrong with fried, ooey-gooey cheesy goodness between two pieces of bread.

But that’s just me.

Admittedly, this felt less like a burger burger, and more like a fun novelty. I’m not sure whether that’s a good or bad thing, but it was definitely a delicious thing– which is all that matters, no?

Have you tried anything at Shake Shack, mes amis?

-Taissa

