Sunday Brunch

So here I am once again apologizing for my lack of (blog) presence. I’m blaming this one on my venerable computer; it went on hiatus, and consequently so did La Tête de Légumes.

But I return to you with a Spinach, Potato and Mushroom Hash. In sweeter words: brunch paradise.

This magical brunch soulmate comes from the lovely Joy the Baker (quelle surprise!), however I’ve adapted it a bit by adding some baby bellas into this mishmash.

Yes, we are talking about perfectly roasted fingerling potatoes, garlicky mushrooms, green peppers, onions, baby spinach, veggie sausage and scrambled eggs perched atop this glorious mess (because you should put an egg on everything).

If you just happen to have a giant loaf of French onion bread from the local bakery… go for it. That bread was meant to scoop up yolky bites of hash.

And if you happen to have casually bought some orange juice and champagne then, you know, mimosas… now! (I don’t know anyone who “casually” buys champagne, but I’d like to befriend them and have some serious mimosa drinking parties together).

Spinach, Potato and Mushroom Hash

1 1/2 pounds of fingerling potatoes, cut into bite-size pieces (I suspect most potatoes will work as they are potatoes and inherently delicious.)

1 medium yellow onion, diced into chunks

4 cloves of garlic, chopped

1 green bell pepper, diced into chunks

1-2 cups of baby bella mushrooms, cut into thick slices

1 cup of vegetarian sausage, sliced

2 cups baby spinach

olive oil

salt, pepper & crushed red pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400°. Place potatoes on a baking sheet and coat with olive oil, salt and pepper. Bake for 20-30 minutes, or until golden.

While the potatoes do their thing, heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Sauté the onions, garlic and green pepper until soft, about 5-7 minutes. Add the mushrooms and season accordingly, sauté for 5 minutes and add the vegetarian sausage.

Once the potatoes are ready, toss them into the pan. Transfer hash into a serving dish and mix with baby spinach, season with salt, pepper and a lot of red pepper (to taste).

Add scrambled eggs on top, sip your mimosa and enjoy your morning/midday/dinner (?).

I’m glad to be back, my computer is glad to be back and I hope you’re glad that we’re both back.

Happy Sunday!

-Taissa

