Shakshuka + Goat Cheese & Chive Grits

These days I am fiercely obsessed with breakfast. Not a sweet breakfast, though. Pancakes, waffles and french toast: I kindly ask you to keep out of my plate to make room for the savory. My weekday daydreams consist of omelettes oozing with goat cheese, patiently sitting atop toast. A hot cup of café crème served out of my favorite mug, the one that’s slightly chipped on its brim. I often fantasize about this while munching on a protein bar, my go-to workday breakfast. Then comes Saturday and Sunday and my breakfast dreams come true.

My mom introduced me to shakshuka and I have since become its most devout eater. I usually make some adaptation of it for dinner and serve it alongside couscous or naan (or both), but last weekend I had a yearning for brunch which resulted in shakshuka and grits. No ordinary grits either, we are talking about goat cheese and chive grits. This brunch bowl is composed of all the foods I’m smitten by, as all lovely brunch bowls should be!

pep talk

Pep(per) talk: I like shakshuka to be spicy; now with hindsight, I would’ve added more jalapeños. Let this be a lesson in tweaking (no, not twerking).

Shakshuka, adapted from the Smitten Kitchen.

For Goat Cheese & Chive Grits, click here.

1/4 cup olive oil

1 large onion

5 cloves garlic, smashed & chopped

3-5 jalapeños, chopped

1 large green bell pepper

1 tablespoon ground cumin

1 tablespoon paprika (or more if you like it hot)

1 28-ounce can tomato puree

6 eggs

salt to taste

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add garlic, onions & bell pepper and sauté until soft, about 6 minutes. Add the jalapeños, cumin & paprika and cook for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add tomato puree, season well with salt and cook for about 15 minutes, or until thickened slightly. Crack the eggs over the sauce, distributing them evenly over the surface. Gently mix in the egg whites with sauce, but don’t break the yolks. Cover the skillet and cook until egg yolks are just about set, around 5 minutes. Serve shakshuka over grits.

goat cheese & chive grits

step 2

ahhh, yolk break

Enjoy breaking the yolk!

-Taissa

