Pizza Toppings

Thus far in my life there’s been two momentous occurrences which have completely revolutionized my outlook on pizza:

1.) Corn as a topping
As a kid in sleep-away camp, I remember that there was always pizza night once during the week. I don’t remember much else, but I do remember that for whatever reason they put corn on top of the pizza. Corn! of all the topping possibilities. Those sweet kernels turned out to be one of my favorite ingredients to sprinkle over my pizza. Thanks, camp!

2.) Potato pizza
My oldest brother and I once drove all the way from Florida to New Hampshire, and on the way we stopped in Washington D.C. to grab some pizza. I ordered a pie with thick potato slices awaiting me atop of it. It was magic. Potatoes are honestly one of my favorite foods and to have them chill out on top of a pizza was a beautiful treat. I had never thought that such a combination existed in the food world but now I encourage it.

Pizza night at my family’s home is revolutionary in its own way. You’ll not find pepperoni anywhere, but usually whatever is on hand. Last weekend’s contestants included corn (!!!), zucchini, caramelized onions, spinach, pine nuts, basil and tomatoes. Maybe these combinations will inspire a fresh outlook on pizza or maybe you’ll stick with the usual, either way I hope you treat pizza as a blank state!

pine nuts, corn, caramelized onions & spinach pizza

zucchini, tomato, basil & caramelized onions pizza

spinach, corn & pine nuts pizza

What is your favorite pizza topping?

– Taissa

